Trent Valley Woodturners AGM 2017

The Trent Valley Woodturners Annual General Meeting was held on Wednesday 8th March 2017. After the usual welcoming remarks and an uneventful recap of last year’s minutes, the chairman gave a very brief review of the year, highlighting the completion of the new facilities and the installation of the new lathes and equipment.  All in all yet another very successful year. The chairman then confirmed that he would be standing down as chairman after a four year term in the post (what a year of departures – Barak Obama, David Cameron and now our very own Frank).  The committee would like to record their grateful thanks for all the hard work that Frank has put in over the last four years.

The new committee was then elected unopposed :-

Chairman Vic Taft
Vice Chair Tony Stubbins
Secretary Barbara Rundle
Treasurer David Routledge
Events Secretary Lynne Stubbins
Committee Members Ian Ethell, Derek Henderson, Stephen Watson

Further thanks from the committee were recorded for David Senior for all the work that he has done on the club website and the quarterly magazine.  David has held the post of Woodword editor and Webmaster for the last seven years but has decided that he now has to hand over the reins.  The committee are pleased (relieved) to announce that volunteers have been found with Bill Percival and Ben Wild offering to take over these roles, Bill will focus on the Magazine and Ben the Website. If you have any items for either the magazine, website or Facebook page you can contact Ben or Bill through the website.

The new chairman formally closed the meeting to allow a short and very welcome tea and biscuits break before the announcement of the April competition (a scoop) and two interesting presentations from Ian Ethell and Ben Wild completed the evening’s activities


Professional software Geek and hobbyist hurter of wood.

Leave a Reply